Travel Safe

Advice for travelling safely
Opening times

Opening times and public holidays. When are they?


When do Spanish people usually have lunch and dinner? What time does public transport operate and what are our retail opening hours? When are the public holidays throughout the year? Clear up your doubts and enjoy your trip with no upsets with all this information.

  • What time is it in Spain?

    Spain is in the UTC +1 time zone. Here you can see the current time in Spain.

    During the year, the clocks change twice, for summer and winter. The first change is the last weekend in March when the clocks go forward an hour. The second change is the last weekend in October when the clocks go back an hour.

  • What are normal opening hours in Spain?


    It is easy to find breakfast served between 7 am and midday.

    Between midday and 2 pm, it is very typical to go for a drink or have some tapas with friends. Basically, people get together to have a drink before eating.

    Restaurants tend to serve lunch between 1 pm and 4 pm and dinner between 8 pm and 10.30 pm. In big cities and during the summer it is normal for dinner to be served till 11.30 pm.

    The normal check-in time for hotels tends to start at 2pm and check-out times end at midday.

    The norm is for shops to open continuously from 10 am to 9 pm. At times, they close between 2 pm and 5 pm, especially in summer.

    Theatre productions, concerts and shows tend to start between 8 pm and 9 pm. In summer, starting times can be later, even as late as 10 pm or 11 pm.

    Public buses in big cities tend to run between 6 am and 11 pm, and the Metro tends to open later. Between 11.30 pm and 6 am, there is usually a night service.

    Sunday is the normal day for shops and businesses to close.

  • What are Spain’s national public holidays?

    Certain dates are designated public holidays in Spain, and these may be national, regional or local. The following are the national public holidays for 2020:

    1 January, New Year's Day.

    6 January, Epiphany.

    9 April, Maundy Thursday (throughout Spain, except in Catalonia and Cantabria).

    10 April, Good Friday.

    1 May, Labour Day.

    15 August, the Assumption.

    12 October: Spain's National Day.

    1 November, All Saints' Day.

    6 December, Spanish Constitution Day.

    8 December, Festivity of the Inmaculada Concepción.

    25 December, Christmas Day.