The building of the hermitage was commissioned by Carlos IV under the supervision of the Italian architect Filippo Fontana in 1792. The sculpture of San Antonio was done by José Ginés. The decoration was the work of Francisco de Goya, who is author of the frescoes that narrate the life of the saint.The hermitage has a Greek cross plan, with central cupola and a noteworthy lantern.The facade is a unique body, decorated with two Doric pilasters.It was declared a National Monument in 1905.As a means of protection, in 1926 worship was suspended and the construction of a replica of the latter was commissioned to Juan de Moya.In 1919 the remains of Francisco de Goya were transferred here. In 1928, King Alfonso XIII gave the hermitage to the Royal Academy of Fine Arts of San Fernando who were henceforth in charge of its custody.
San Antonio de la Florida Shrine
Glorieta de San Antonio de la Florida, 5
28008 Madrid (Madrid Region)