This unique monument is associated with a series of historic remains and ancient legends.
The current chapel is a modern reconstruction dating from 1951 on the site of the building which was destroyed during the Spanish Civil War. The original chapel was consecrated at the end of the 8th century by King Favila of Asturias, the second king of the Asturian monarchy and son of King Pelayo. It is therefore considered to be the first Christian church built after the Muslim invasion. Its only surviving elements are the foundation stone bearing an inscription with the date (27-X-737). Legend has it that King Favila and his wife were buried here. The church crypt holds an unexpected treasure: a perfectly preserved dolmen that is some 3,000 years old. Its burial chamber is adorned with rock carvings and paintings from the same period.