This Convent-Museum is where San Juan de la Cruz, an important figure of Christian thought and spirituality, died and was buried. It contains several relics and souvenirs related to the saint.
In 1591, Fray Juan de la Cruz arrived at the convent in Úbeda to cure himself and he remained here in a small cell until his death. This museum, which takes visitors on a tour through the life and doctrine of this figure, was opened in 1978. It also boasts a library specialising in subjects relating to San Juan and spirituality. In the Jubilee Year in 2000, the museum collections grew with works from the convents in the Province of Santo Ángel Custodio in Andalusia, and today up to 12 rooms can be visited. “The worst and most narrow cell in the convent” was located in the choir of the Oratory. That is where the most important relics that remained in Úbeda after his body was transferred to Segovia in 1593 were worshipped.The museum can be visited while on a trip to the World Heritage City of Úbeda. It is also only 10 kilometres from Baeza (also a World Heritage Site) and 40 kilometres from the Sierras de Cazorla, Segura y Las Villas Natural Park.