The Mendoza family, the bearers of the title of dukes of El Infantado, embodied all their power in this building, which is the most representative property in their possession.
The original building, in the Gothic style with numerous Mudéjar details, was commissioned by the second Duke of the Infantado and built by Juan Guas, who began it in 1480. Later, the fifth Duke would adapt it to Renaissance tastes in 1569, adding balconies to the façade and replacing the columns on the ground floor of the Courtyard of the Lions. He also commissioned Romulo Cincinato to create frescos in various rooms; some of these paintings still survive as a unique testament to the splendour of these apartments.The palace was almost destroyed by a bombardment in 1936, and its most representative elements, the Courtyard of the Lions, the façade, and the Garden Gallery, were restored between 1961 and 1973. It is now the home of the Museum of Guadalajara.
Chapel of Luis Lucena or Los Urbina
Luis Lucena, doctor and humanist and a native of Guadalajara,…