Spain’s beech forests are declared World Heritage Sites

  • x



The beech forests of Montejo (Madrid), Tejera Negra (Castilla – La Mancha), Lizardoa and Aztaparreta (Navarre), and Cuesta Fría and Canal de Asotín (Castilla y León) are part of the “Ancient and Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe”, declared a collective World Heritage site by UNESCO.

Beech forests are famous for their beauty, especially in autumn. In these vast woodlands, dominated by beech and other deciduous trees, human activity is barely noticeable. In October and November they turn to almost infinite shades of ochre and red, and many local towns and villages organise tours and activities relating to the beech forests at this time of year. If you plan to visit, remember that many of them must be booked in advance. Beech forest of Castilla – La Mancha: the Tejera Negra beech forest is 150 kilometres from Madrid, and you will need to reserve a parking space in advance. There are two circular walking routes and a visitors’ centre. Beech forest of the Community of Madrid: the Montejo beech forest, about 100 kilometres from Madrid, includes part of the Sierra del Rincón Biosphere Reserve. Booking is essential, and you can do it up to three months in advance. Beech forests of Navarre: the Lizardoia beech forest is part of the popular Irati Forest, and close to its visitors’ centre (Casa de Irati, in Ochagavía), which organises guided tours and offers information on mountain bike routes. The Aztaparreta beech forest is part of the Roncal Valley and very close to the Larra-Belagua ski resort, in the heart of the Pyrenees. Beech forests of Castilla y León: the beech forests of Cuesta Fría and Canal de Asotín are in León’s share of the Picos de Europa National Park. The park hiking route “Through the villages of Sajambre” covers the beech forest area and is an easy walk. It is about 125 kilometres from the cities of Oviedo and León.

Navarre (Autonomous Community of Navarre)

Ochagavía-Otsagabia, Ezcároz-Ezkaroze

Guadalajara (Castilla-La Mancha)


Madrid (Madrid Region)

Montejo de la Sierra, Hiruela, La, Horcajuelo de la Sierra, Puebla de la Sierra, Montejo de la Sierra, Prádena del Rincón

León (Castilla y Leon)

Oseja de Sajambre


Spain 巴塞罗那塞维利亚马德里马拉加科尔多瓦拉科鲁尼亚格拉纳达卢戈韦斯卡穆尔西亚加迪斯卡斯特利翁阿斯图里亚斯阿利坎特-阿拉坎特。比兹卡亚庞特维德拉吉普斯夸省坎塔布里亚拉里奥哈阿尔梅里亚托莱多布尔戈斯巴伦西亚哈恩卡塞雷斯巴拉多利德阿拉瓦-阿拉瓦莱昂塞戈维亚塔拉戈纳韦尔瓦萨拉戈萨雷亚尔城昆卡纳瓦拉西罗纳萨拉曼卡列伊达巴达霍斯萨莫拉奥乌伦塞阿维拉特鲁埃尔帕伦西亚阿尔瓦塞特瓜达拉哈拉索利亚加那利群岛巴雷阿雷斯群岛
Baleares 马洛卡伊比萨梅诺尔卡福门特拉岛
Canarias 特内里费帕尔马兰萨罗特岛大加那利岛富尔特文图拉拉戈梅拉