San Juan de la Peña and Monte Oroel Protected Landscape


San Juan de la Peña Visitor Centre
Ctra. N-240 Jaca/Pamplona, desvío a Santa Cruz de la Serós, a 7 km. por carretera de montaña hasta el Monasterio Viejo y 1,5 km más hasta el Monasterio Nuevo y los Centros de Interpretación.
San Juan de la Peña, Jaca, Huesca  (Aragón)
Oficina de Desarrollo Socioeconómico de la Red Natural de la Comarca de la Jacetania
Tel:: +34 974370156
Tel::+34 974361476
Tel:: +34 976405041


San Juan de la Peña and Monte Oroel Protected Landscape

  • x



  This Protected Landscape, in the province of Huesca, stands out because of its combination of nature and culture - typical Pyrenean mid-mountain landscape and one of the most important monasteries built in the High Middle Ages and first royal pantheon of Aragon: San Juan de la Peña Monastery.

  Because of the diverse environments here, it is a strategic place for fauna. One of the most characteristic landscapes is reddish rock faces surrounded by leafy forests. In spring, when the echinospartum flowers, the landscape in the mountains is covered in yellow, contrasting with the green forests. Surrounded by the vast forest we can find the Old Monastery of San Juan de la Peña, next to the rock face of the Pano Mountain in San Juan de la Peña.

  • 面積 9.514 ヘクタール




These mountains in the Huesca Pre-Pyrenees have seen continuous human settlements from the Neolithic period. The area is important from a historical, cultural and religious point of view. That is why it was designated San Juan de la Peña Cultural Park.


Most of the Protected Landscape is covered in wild pines and the forests are often mixed - pines with gall oaks and aspen trees. Regarding the fauna, there are many species such as roe deer, wild boar and cave bats. There are also birds such as bearded vultures, Egyptian vultures, golden eagles, griffon vultures and peregrine falcons.


Visitors can find information at the San Juan de la Peña Visitor Centre (next to the New Monastery of San Juan de la Peña, 8 kilometres from Santa Cruz de la Serós).

Spain バルセロナセビージャマドリードマラガコルドバア・コルーニャグラナダカディスアストゥリアスルゴムルシアウエスカレイダアリカンテ-アラカントラ・リオハカンタブリアカステジョン-カステジョビスカヤギプスコアポンテベドラバレンシア-バレンシアアルメリアレオンバジャドリブルゴスハエントレドカセレスジローナタラゴナアラバ-アラバシウダ・レアルセゴビアウエルバクエンカサラマンカテルエルサラゴサナバーラサモラバダホスアビラオウレンセソリアアルバセテパレンシアグアダラハラカナリア諸島バレアレス諸島
Baleares マヨルカ島イビサ島メノルカ
Canarias ランサローテ島テネリフェ島グラン・カナリア島ラ・パルマ島フエルテベントゥーラ島ラ・ゴメラ島