Quintanilla de Onésimo (Valladolid) © Fernando Fernández. Ribera del Duero Wine Route

Wine-producing area of The Duero Valley

It runs through the provinces of Valladolid, Burgos, Segovia, Soria and Zamora (in Castilla and León). It includes wine routes through Vino de Rueda, Cigales (Valladolid) and Ribera de Duero.

The wines and designations of origin

What are the wines like?: the River Duero is considered the centre of this wine-producing area, which comprises a total of 21,000 hectares of vineyards. It represents a connection point for around 100 towns, among which the following are particularly known for the quality of their wines: Peñafiel, Aranda de Duero and Valbuena de Duero. The omnipresent Tempranillo grape deserves a special mention. Thick-skinned in nature, it is used to produce very aromatic wines with an intense ruby red colour. White wines with Rueda designation of origin have also come to earn their own global prestige, thanks to the Verdejo grape. Designations of origin: Arlanza / Arribes / Cigales / Ribera del Duero / Rueda / Tierra de León / Tierra del Vino de Zamora / Toro.

Tips and interesting facts

  • See all the Wine routes here, along with all the available activities.

    If you want to get to know and enjoy the world of wine in Spain, we recommend that you visit our Wine tourism section.

Have you found this information useful?

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaGranadaCadizAsturiasLugoMurciaHuescaAlicante - AlacantLleidaLa RiojaCantabriaCastellón - CastellóVizcaya - BizkaiaValenciaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaPontevedraAlmeríaLeónValladolidBurgosToledoJaénCáceresGironaTarragonaÁlava - ArabaCiudad RealSegoviaHuelvaCuencaSalamancaTeruelZaragozaNavarreZamoraBadajozÁvilaOurenseAlbacetePalenciaSoriaGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorca
Canarias LanzaroteTenerifeGran CanariaLa PalmaFuerteventuraLa Gomera