Contact details

Navarre  (Autonomous Community of Navarre)
Federación Navarra de Deportes de Montaña y Escalada. Pamplona
Tel.:+34 948224683




Navarra has had an important network of cattle tracks since time immemorial that is being recovered as footpaths, given their rich cultural content.

La Cañada de las Provincias is one of these, with a unique route, as it begins in the centre of Navarra, in the south of Pamplona and leads to the heart of Guipúzcoa, as opposed to most Navarra cattle tracks that head from south to north to connect the summer pastures of the Pyrenees with the winter pastures on the banks of the Ebro. The variety of countryside is sublime, as it ranges from a part that is clearly Medeterranean influenced to another of Atlantic influence. The climatic change is slow, enabling you to intensely learn of and experience a part of Navarra, in this case following the path. From Noain, in the middle of the Pamplona basin, it runs around the capital city, passing from south to north through Miluze and Berrioplano and leaving the basin through Beorburu, where it passes through increasingly green and damp areas with the valleys of Imotz, Basaburua and Larraun. Here it makes contact with Guipúzcoa, on the Cantabrian-Mediterranean hydrographic dividing line. This path joins the GR 12 at Etxarri (V. Larraun) and the GR 121 in Ulizar.

Route details

Departure point: Noain
Arrival point: Uli
Difficulty: Difficult
Distance (km): 56
No. of stages: 4



Noain - Miluze - Berrioplano - Etxaleku - Jauntsaras - Aldatz - Uhitzi - Gorriti -Uli.


Hotels, camping and rural accommodation in Noain, Pamplona, Berrioplano, Aldatz, Uhitzi and Gorriti. Regular bus service to Etxaleku and Uhitzi.


Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaGranadaLugoHuescaMurciaCadizCastellón - CastellóAsturiasAlicante - AlacantVizcaya - BizkaiaPontevedraGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriaLa RiojaAlmeríaToledoBurgosValenciaJaénCáceresValladolidÁlava - ArabaLeónSegoviaTarragonaHuelvaZaragozaCiudad RealCuencaNavarreGironaSalamancaLleidaBadajozZamoraOurenseÁvilaTeruelPalenciaAlbaceteGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias TenerifeLa PalmaLanzaroteGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera