Contact details

Museo Plaza 2
48009  Bilbao, Bizkaia  (Basque Country)
Tel.:+34 944396060




  • x

    Accessibility. Accessible environments and services in Spain.

  • x

    Way of Saint James, the first European Cultural Route and World Heritage Site. See more


The old, the new and the home-grown

The Museum of Fine Arts takes a journey through the general history of art from the 12th century to the present day. The paintings are displayed in a surprisingly original way, with the frames perfectly aligned in a single row.

This centre includes the former Bilbao Museum of Fine Arts from 1908, and the Museum of Modern Art, opened in 1924. The collection combines classical and modern art (Bacon, Menz, Tàpies) and creations by Basque artists (Regoyos, Zuloaga and Echevarría), as well as a small exhibition of applied arts. The exhibition is presented in chronological order, and covers the period from the 12th century to the present day. The collection contains over 6,000 works, including paintings, sculptures, drawings, engravings and decorative arts.

  • Designation: Provincial museum
  • Content: Fine arts

Practical information


  • From Wednesday to Monday

    From 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM
  • From Jul 01 to Aug 31
  • From Monday to Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 8:00 PM
  • Dec 24
    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM
  • Dec 31
    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM

Closed: Tuesday, 25 December, 1 and 6 January.


  • General: €10
  • Reduced: €8
  • Disabled persons: Admission free
  • Children: Admission free

Bono ARTEAN (joint entry to the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao and the Bilbao Fine Arts Museum): €16 Free entry: every day from 6.00 pm to 8.00 pm.


Audio guide, Cafe, Guided tours


WHAT IS THERE NEARBY? (within a 2 km radius)

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaGranadaLugoHuescaMurciaCadizCastellón - CastellóAsturiasAlicante - AlacantVizcaya - BizkaiaPontevedraGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriaLa RiojaAlmeríaValenciaToledoBurgosJaénCáceresValladolidÁlava - ArabaLeónSegoviaTarragonaHuelvaZaragozaCiudad RealCuencaNavarreGironaSalamancaLleidaBadajozZamoraOurenseÁvilaTeruelPalenciaAlbaceteGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias TenerifeLa PalmaLanzaroteGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera