Contact details

Plaza del Cardenal Cascajares, s/n.
26036  Calahorra, La Rioja  (La Rioja)
Tel.:+34 941130098


La Rioja

Tel.: +34 941130098


The cathedral is located in the place where two Roman legionaries were decapitated. Originally it was a baptistery, and after periods of ups and downs in its history, reconstruction work began on it in the 14th century until it came to have its current appearance.

It is located just outside the city. It is in the Gothic style. Its interior design is Baroque, and includes altarpieces, wrought ironwork and chapels. The choir stalls are located in the central nave and are in beautiful Plateresque style. There is also an important Gothic font, in trefoil form. There is a stunning Romanesque-Gothic statue of El Cristo de la Pelota. The sacristy is decorated with paintings and large mirrors. The chapterhouse and cloister house is in the Diocesan Museum, which houses very significant sculptures and metalwork.

  • Construction: Cathedral
  • Artistic period: Renaissance
  • Historic period: 18th century, 15th century
  • Setting: Bishop’s Palace, Church of San Andrés, Church of Santiago, Church of San Francisco, Convent of El Carmen and Shrine.

Practical information


  • From Mar 27 to Oct 27
  • From Monday to Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM From 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM
  • From Oct 28 to Mar 28
  • From Monday to Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM From 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM

The sacristy and cloister can be visited as part of a guided tour.Saturdays: guided tours at 12.00 pm for individual visitors. 


  • Admission free

Groups: guided tours with an advance booking. Groups of 6 to 20 people. €2. Over 20 people: €1.50


Guided tours, Shop


WHAT IS THERE NEARBY? (within a 2 km radius)

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaGranadaLugoHuescaMurciaCadizCastellón - CastellóAsturiasAlicante - AlacantVizcaya - BizkaiaPontevedraGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriaLa RiojaAlmeríaToledoBurgosValenciaJaénCáceresValladolidÁlava - ArabaLeónSegoviaTarragonaHuelvaZaragozaCiudad RealCuencaNavarreGironaSalamancaLleidaBadajozZamoraOurenseÁvilaTeruelPalenciaAlbaceteGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias TenerifeLa PalmaLanzaroteGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera