Live our experiences

Live our experiences

and get the most out of your trip!

The International Contemporary Art Museum-Castillo de San José is located near Puerto Naos and Arrecife, capital of the island.

It was built between 1776 and 1779 under the mandate of King Charles III. Its advantageous location on top of a cliff, was an added asset to the powerful Castle of San Gabriel, and made it an essential spot to defend Arrecife from and its port against the threat of modern states in conflict with the Spanish Empire.

It was abandoned for almost a century, when it became less necessary to use it as a fortress.

César Manrique convinced the authorities of the island to transform the ancient fortress into an art gallery, and the International Contemporary Art Museum opened in 1976.

  • Price: €4 per person (including taxes)
  • Activities available in the following languages: Spanish.English.French.German
  • Place: Arrecife (Lanzarote)
  • Duration: 1 Hours
  • Date available from: 07/11/2018
  • Date available to: 07/11/2019
  • Additional information: Museum: from 10:00 to 20:00 Restaurant Qué-Muac (free access) : •Restaurant: 12:00-16:00 Tuesday to Saturday 19:00-23:00 Fridays and Saturdays (Museum Nights) •Coffee Shop: 10:00-20:00 Monday to Sunday •Drinks/Bar: 21:30-01:00 Fridays and Saturdays
  • Category of the activity: Circuits and visits
  • Who is it for?: Young people. Families. Adults without children. Senior. LGBT
  • Organising company: Centros Turísticos Lanzarote

Information supplied by the provider

Other activities you may find interesting

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaGranadaCadizAsturiasMurciaLugoHuescaAlicante - AlacantLleidaCastellón - CastellóLa RiojaCantabriaVizcaya - BizkaiaValenciaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaPontevedraAlmeríaValladolidLeónToledoCáceresJaénBurgosGironaTarragonaÁlava - ArabaCiudad RealHuelvaSegoviaCuencaSalamancaTeruelZaragozaZamoraNavarreBadajozÁvilaOurenseAlbaceteSoriaGuadalajaraPalenciaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorca
Canarias LanzaroteTenerifeGran CanariaLa PalmaFuerteventuraLa Gomera