Contact details

Tarragona  (Catalonia)
Federació d’Entitats Excursionistes de Catalunya. Barcelona
Tel.:+34 93 412 07 77




El Priorat is a very mountainous district located between La Serra la Llena, with its sedimentary structure in the north, and the Pre-coastal mountainous area, with its calcareous structure in the south, both of relatively recent geological origin leading to a sharp relief with only slight erosion.

However, except for the Montsant in the north and some calcareous areas in the southernmost part, most of the region is geologically from very ancient times (paleozoic) and the hundreds of millions of years that the meteorological players have acted on its mountains have produced this characteristically gentle relief. The cropland of El Priorat is mostly made up of decomposed slate (licorella). This feature of the ground, together with special climatic conditions, give a wine with one of the highest alcohol contents of all the vineyards wordwide. The gentleness of its hills and the depth of its valleys are worth a look by those wishing to see the beauty of nature.The GR 174, previously known as the GR 7-4, joins the GR 7 and its variant the GR 7-1, passing almost all of the villages of El Priorat through which the GR 7 did not pass. It runs from the outskirts of the Coll de la Teixeta to La Serra Major del Montsant, passing Porrera, Falset, Bellmunt, Lloar, Gratllops, Torroja, Vilella Alta, Conreria d’Escaladei, Poboleda and Cornudella.

Route details

Departure point: Coll de la Teixeta
Arrival point: Albarca
Difficulty: Difficult
Distance (km): 72
No. of stages: 4



Coll de la Teixeta (GR 7) (Tarragona) - Porrera - Falset - Bellmunt - Gratallops - Torroja - Vilella Alta - Poboleda - Cornudella - Albarca (GR 171) (Tarragona).

Variante GR 174-1:

Camí dels Cartoixans - Gran del Montsant - clot del Meloner - Serra Major - Camí de Capçada.


Along the route, accommodation, food and supplies are available in all of the localities.


Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaGranadaLugoHuescaMurciaCadizCastellón - CastellóAsturiasAlicante - AlacantVizcaya - BizkaiaPontevedraGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriaLa RiojaAlmeríaToledoBurgosValenciaJaénCáceresValladolidÁlava - ArabaLeónSegoviaTarragonaHuelvaZaragozaCiudad RealCuencaNavarreGironaSalamancaLleidaBadajozZamoraOurenseÁvilaTeruelPalenciaAlbaceteGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias TenerifeLa PalmaLanzaroteGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera