Contact details

Avenida de San Isidoro del Campo 18
41970  Santiponce, Seville  (Andalusia)
Tel.:+34 671568517




The monastery was declared a Historic and Artistic Building of national interest on 10 April 1872. It was founded by Duke Alonso Pérez de Guzmán and his wife María Alonso de Coronel in 1301 to serve as the family tomb and bear witness to their piety. It was built on the site of a Mozarabic chapel, where local legend said Saint Isidore had been buried before being moved to the collegiate church of León in 1063. The monastery was occupied by Hieronymite monks until the confiscations of Mendizábal. Every artistic style is represented: Mudéjar in the Cloister of the Dead and Cloister of the Evangelists, the restrained Baroque of the Escorial in the Sacristy and the Chapter Hall, Gothic in the refectory and its cloister, and Baroque in the tower.

  • Construction: Monastery
  • Artistic period: Mudejar
  • Historic period: 14th century

Practical information


  • From Sep 01 to Jun 30
  • From Tuesday to Thursday

    From 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
  • From Friday to Saturday

    From 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM
  • Public holidays and Sunday
    From 10:00 AM to 2:30 PM
  • Closing days: Monday
  • From Jul 01 to Aug 31
  • From Tuesday to Sunday

    Public holidays

    From 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
  • Closing days: Monday

Closed: 1 and 6 January, 1 May, and 24, 25 and 31 December.A visit takes about 45 minutes.Guided tours are not available.The maximum group size is 30 people, for security reasons. 


  • Admission free


WHAT IS THERE NEARBY? (within a 2 km radius)

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaGranadaCadizLugoAsturiasMurciaAlicante - AlacantHuescaLleidaCastellón - CastellóLa RiojaCantabriaVizcaya - BizkaiaValenciaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaPontevedraAlmeríaValladolidLeónToledoJaénCáceresBurgosTarragonaÁlava - ArabaCiudad RealSegoviaHuelvaCuencaGironaSalamancaTeruelZaragozaZamoraNavarreBadajozÁvilaOurenseAlbaceteSoriaPalenciaGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorca
Canarias LanzaroteTenerifeGran CanariaLa PalmaFuerteventuraLa Gomera