Sailing the Way of Saint James

Here’s an unusual way to follow St. James’ Way: by boat. You can do it any time of year, with a route taking in 14 ports in northern Spain, or join in an organised crossing held every month of July. We’ll show you how.

This seafaring version of St. James’ Way visits the regions of the Basque Country, Cantabria, Asturias, and Galicia. It crosses the Cantabrian Sea, but to obtain the Compostela (the accreditation showing you have completed St. James’ Way) you only need to sail 100 nautical miles and walk the last few kilometres to Santiago de Compostela. The route stops at some of the ports which form part of the crossing: Hondarribia, DonostiaSan Sebastián, Getaria, Mutriku, Getxo, Santurtzi, and Bermeo (in the Basque Country); Santander, in Cantabria; Gijón, in Asturias; and Viveiro, A Coruña, Muxía, Muros, and A Pobra Do Caramiñal (in Galicia). You don’t need your own boat to sail St. James’ Way. You have the option of hiring a boat or joining the crew of another craft on the route. Also, every July there is a group crossing along the entire route

The Way by catamaran

Another way to sail part of St. James’ Way is the sea route of Arousa and the river Ulla. By catamaran, it commemorates the voyage bringing the body of St. James the Apostle to Galicia. The route runs from O Grove to Padrón.

Have you found this information useful?

X Switch to mobile version

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaGranadaCordobaA CoruñaCadizHuescaLugoMurciaCastellón - CastellóValenciaAsturiasLa RiojaCantabriaAlicante - AlacantPontevedraCáceresLeónLleidaToledoBurgosVizcaya - BizkaiaAlmeríaJaénGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCiudad RealSegoviaGironaValladolidTarragonaÁlava - ArabaHuelvaZaragozaSalamancaNavarreCuencaTeruelZamoraÁvilaBadajozOurenseAlbacetePalenciaGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera