Follow the footsteps of Saint Teresa of Avila in Spain

Who is Saint Teresa? She's one of the most famous religious, historical and literary figures in the history of Spain. In 1567, this fascinating woman embarked on a journey that would last twenty years and culminate in the foundation of several convents. The “Footsteps of Saint Teresa” tourist route pays tribute to that journey and runs through the 17 Spanish cities that the saint chose to leave her legacy to. We invite you to discover this route and visit attractive monuments, sample delicious dishes and find out more about a story that is so well worth exploring.  

What cities are on this route? The cities where Saint Teresa spent time and which are part of this initiative are spread all over Spain. They are: Avila, Medina del Campo, Malagón, Valladolid, Toledo, Pastrana, Salamanca, Alba de Tormes, Segovia, Beas de Segura, Seville, Caravaca de la Cruz, Villanueva de la Jara, Palencia, Soria, Granada and Burgos. You'll find a number of interesting and unusual monuments, including the birthplace house (today a museum) of Saint Teresa in Avila, the convent of the Carmelitas Descalzas de San José in Toledo (in 1577 Teresa went into retreat in Toledo and began "Las Moradas", a culminating work of mysticism), the sites known as the "Spaces of Feminine Spirituality" in Salamanca, the convent of San José in Seville (which conserves the only portrait of the saint painted during her lifetime), the Carmelite convent of San José and Santa Ana in Burgos (containing various relics of Saint Teresa such as a candle and a handwritten letter), and the church and convent of La Anunciación in Alba de Tormes, the site of the saint's tomb. You can visit all these sites, or only the ones that interest you most. You decide your route.

Obtain your card

To encourage you to follow this route, here's a secret worth sharing: you can obtain a card to be recognised as a pilgrim who has taken the Footsteps of Saint Teresa route in Spain. It is available from tourist offices in the towns and villages along the route, or you can download it from the website You only have to visit a minimum of four cities in at least two Autonomous Regions (choose from Andalusia, Murcia, Castile-La Mancha, Madrid and Castile-León), and finish your route in Avila, where you can collect your distinction at the Pilgrim's Office (Visitor Reception Centre).  

Heritage Cities

In addition to this general route, several areas in Spain that are related to Saint Teresa have created their own routes. One of the most interesting is the one that takes place through the Heritage Cities of Castile and León: Segovia, Avila and Salamanca. Their monuments and streets have a special charm.

Have you found this information useful?

X Switch to mobile version

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaGranadaCadizAsturiasLugoMurciaHuescaLleidaAlicante - AlacantLa RiojaCastellón - CastellóVizcaya - BizkaiaCantabriaPontevedraGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaValenciaAlmeríaValladolidLeónToledoBurgosJaénCáceresGironaTarragonaÁlava - ArabaCiudad RealSegoviaHuelvaCuencaSalamancaTeruelNavarreZamoraZaragozaBadajozÁvilaOurenseSoriaAlbacetePalenciaGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorca
Canarias LanzaroteTenerifeLa PalmaGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera