Contact details

International Tagus Natural Park visitors’ centre
Calle Cuatro Calles 2
10980  Cáceres  (Extremadura)
Tel.:+34 927390132




Protected nature around the Tagus river (Tajo)

This natural space was awarded UNESCO Biosphere Reserve status in 2016. The territory is mainly rural and wilderness, with few signs of human activity. The Biosphere Reserve comprises 14 municipalities in Cáceres province, Extremadura, and 12 in Portugal. The native Mediterranean wildlife in the reserve includes several rare and endangered species. The terrain is steep and abrupt around the river, and dominated by holm oaks, cork oaks, and scrub.


Cáceres (Extremadura)

Alcántara, Brozas, Carbajo, Herrera de Alcántara, Herreruela, Mata de Alcántara, Membrío, Piedras Albas, Salorino, Santiago de Alcántara, Valencia de Alcántara, Villa del Rey, Zarza la Mayor

  • Type of area Biosphere reserve
  • Area 428.176 hectares


Access and surroundings

Cultural information

The local economy is almost entirely based on forestry and livestock farming, especially sheep, cattle, and pigs. Other economic activities include cork harvesting, bee-keeping, and cereal production.

Environmental information

It is the habitat for species including the Iberian imperial eagle, Bonelli’s eagle, black stork, Egyptian vulture, great bustard, otter, Iberian frog, Spanish pond turtle, and other animals. The yellow iris is a symbol of the park and its flora. It is also rich in orchids, with many native species.

Information for visits

The International Tagus Natural Park visitors’ centre is in Alcántara. The Natural Park is part of the Biosphere Reserve and provides information on its protected space. A boat trip along the river is an interesting way to visit.

More information

X Switch to mobile version

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaGranadaA CoruñaCadizMurciaValenciaLugoLleidaHuescaLa RiojaAsturiasCáceresCantabriaPontevedraAlicante - AlacantCastellón - CastellóVizcaya - BizkaiaJaénGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaLeónToledoBurgosÁlava - ArabaHuelvaCiudad RealValladolidGironaTarragonaSegoviaAlmeríaSalamancaÁvilaCuencaNavarreZaragozaTeruelZamoraBadajozOurenseAlbacetePalenciaGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa GomeraHierro