Which area of Spain is it typical?

Castilla y León


Traditional cheese made historically by the shepherds of the county of Tierra de Campos for their own consumption. It can be eaten fresh or matured; in both cases it is excellent.

Villalón cheese, also called Pata de Mulo, is made in the place with the same name, in Valladolid, with milk from the Castellana sheepIt was originally a matured product made from cheeses which it had not been possible to sell fresh. Nowadays, however, it can be eaten fresh, mature or medium mature. It is a tubular shape with an oval cross-section and a weight ranging between 1.5 and 2 kilos. The paste is slightly compacted and strawish yellow in colour. Its rind is natural in yellowish shades. The flavour is well developed and typical of mature sheep's cheese, with a high level of acidity and salt, but oily at the same time. Fresh, it has a soft paste without a rind, similar to Burgos cheese, and its flavour resembles curdled milk. It is a perfect cheese to eat as an aperitif or dessert.

More information

Product information

  • Type of product: Others
  • Season: All year round.
  • Origin: The traditional area for manufacturing Villalón cheese is Villalón de Campos, in Valladolid, but nowadays it is also made in various places in the provinces of León, Zamora and Valladolid.
  • To drink with it: Full-bodied dry wines, fino or oloroso, or dry white wine.
  • Where to buy: Villalón cheese can be bought in all specialised shops, supermarkets, hypermarkets and cheese shops in the region of Castilla y León, especially in Valladolid and Villalón de Campos.

Nutritional information

  • Energy: Average
  • Cholesterol: Average
  • Comments: Rich in lipids, proteins and calcium.

You may be interested in

X Switch to mobile version

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaGranadaA CoruñaCadizMurciaHuescaValenciaLleidaCáceresLugoCantabriaLa RiojaAsturiasPontevedraVizcaya - BizkaiaAlicante - AlacantCastellón - CastellóGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaJaénBurgosToledoLeónGironaÁlava - ArabaValladolidCiudad RealTarragonaHuelvaSegoviaAlmeríaZaragozaÁvilaSalamancaTeruelNavarreCuencaZamoraBadajozAlbaceteOurensePalenciaSoriaGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias La PalmaLanzaroteTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa GomeraHierro