Which area of Spain is it typical?



The hazelnut, a holy plant for the primitive Germans and with medicinal properties highly appreciated in ancient China, has been grown in Spain since the 13th century. Nowadays, its quality is known throughout the world.

Current Reus hazelnut production is concentrated on the province of Tarragona, Catalonia. Its trade has been regulated on the Barcelona exchange since the 13th century. This is a fruit that has traditionally formed part of the Mediterranean diet in different forms, whether as an aperitif, as an ingredient in many recipes and drinks, and as an essential element in the confectionery industry. The Reus hazelnut D.O. was recognised in 1997. Its presentation on the market is varied: in the shell, as a whole kernel - also known as shelled hazelnuts - and toasted.

More information

Product information

  • Type of product: Others
  • Season: The harvest starts at the beginning of September and lasts until October. They can be eaten all year round.
  • Origin: The production area covered by the Designation of Origin includes the land in the Baix Camp, Tarragonès, Priorat, Conca del Barberà and Terra Alta, all in the province of Tarragona. The sale of the product has been centred for many years on the city of Reus, which gives its name to the Designation of Origin.
  • To drink with it: Toasted hazelnuts are delicious with full-bodied wines, Oloroso, Fino or Manzanilla. In desserts, it can be accompanied by a sweet Muscatel wine.
  • Varieties: Although the Negreta variety is the most widely grown, the Designation of Origin also covers the Culpiana, Gironella, Morella and Pautet variety in its Extra category.

Nutritional information

  • Energy: Average
  • Cholesterol: 0
  • Comments: Rich in lipids and fibre.

With this product you can make...

You may be interested in

X Switch to mobile version

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaGranadaA CoruñaCadizMurciaHuescaValenciaLleidaCáceresLugoCantabriaLa RiojaAsturiasPontevedraVizcaya - BizkaiaAlicante - AlacantCastellón - CastellóGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaJaénBurgosToledoLeónGironaÁlava - ArabaValladolidHuelvaCiudad RealTarragonaSegoviaAlmeríaZaragozaÁvilaSalamancaTeruelNavarreCuencaZamoraBadajozAlbaceteOurensePalenciaSoriaGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias La PalmaLanzaroteTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa GomeraHierro