Contact details

Huelva  (Andalusia)
Federación Andaluza de Montañismo. Granada
Tel.:+34 958 29 13 40




A path that runs within the Natural Park of La Sierra de Aracena y Picos de Aroche, from south to northeast, crossing the GR 41 and the GR 48.It begins in the locality of Aroche and reaches the border with the autonomous community of Extremadura.

It has a total length of 56 km. that run over three stages through the municipalities of Aroche, Cumbres de Enmedio and Segura de León, in Badajoz. The land of rolling hills and beautiful landscapes with holm oaks is the environment of this cattle track that connects Huelva and Badajoz, the Autonomous Communities of Andalusia and Extremadura. This path has one variant, the GR 42.1. This variant splits off from the main path in Aroche and runs through the municipalities of Cortegana, Almonaster la Real, Aguafría, Jabugo, Galaroza, Valdelarco and Cumbres Mayores, where it rejoins the main path after approximately 50 km.

Route details

Departure point: Aroche
Arrival point: Segura de León
Difficulty: Difficult
Distance (km): 56
No. of stages: 3



Aroche - Ribera del Múrtiga (Local road to Encinasola) - Peaks of En medio - Segura de León (Badajoz).

Variante GR 42.1:

Aroche - Cortegana - Almonaster la Real - Jabugo -Galenza - Valdelarco - Cumbres Mayores.


You can find almost all services necessary in both Aroche and Cumbres de Enmedio, particularly the former, which has a large amount of accommodation and restaurants and good connections with the capital cities of the province. For further information: Huelva Provincial Tourist Board. Fernando el Católico, 18. 21003 Huelva. Tel. 959 25 74 67.


X Switch to mobile version

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaGranadaLugoHuescaMurciaCadizCastellón - CastellóAsturiasAlicante - AlacantVizcaya - BizkaiaPontevedraGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriaLa RiojaAlmeríaValenciaToledoBurgosJaénCáceresValladolidÁlava - ArabaLeónSegoviaTarragonaHuelvaZaragozaCiudad RealCuencaNavarreGironaSalamancaLleidaBadajozZamoraOurenseÁvilaTeruelPalenciaAlbaceteGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias TenerifeLa PalmaLanzaroteGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera