The Canary Islands government

This autonomous region is made up of two provinces. The first is Santa Cruz de Tenerife, consisting of the islands of Tenerife, La Palma, la Gomera and el el Hierro. Its capital is Santa Cruz de Tenerife. The other is Las Palmas (islands of Gran Canaria, Lanzarote and Fuerteventura) and whose capital is Las Palmas de Gran Canaria.

The Autonomy Statute was approved for the Canary Islands in 1982. The Regional Government of the Canary Islands is made up of President, Vice President and various regional ministries.


Tropical climate

The autonomous region of the Canary Islands is notable for its tropical climate.

Although its latitude corresponds more to a desert climate, the reality is very different. Lying in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, swept by trade winds, with a most peculiar mountainous terrain and basking in the warm coastal currents, the Canary Islands enjoy a wonderful climate. The average annual temperature is 20 degrees centigrade, which varies little, except in the higher areas, where the average annual temperature is lower. The rainfall depends on the area. The average annual figures vary between 3000mm (in the lower areas) and 500mm (in the higher areas). The fact that the region also has an average of over 300 days of sunshine a year ensures that the islands have one of the world's most pleasant climates.


Densely Populated islands

The population of this autonomous region according to figures from the Spanish National Statistics Institute (INE) as of the 1st of January 2010, after having reviewed the Inhabitants register, is 2,118,519.

The population breakdown of the islands is as follows: Tenerife: 906,854, Fuerteventura: 103,492, Gran Canaria: 845,676, Lanzarote: 141,437, La Palma: 87,324, la Gomera: 22,776 and el Hierro: 10,960. The main cities in the region are: Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Santa Cruz de Tenerife, La Laguna, Telde, La Orotava and Arrecife.

Conexiones interinsulares de las islas Canarias

A continuación puedes consultar una tabla orientativa de las principales conexiones interinsulares.

Gran Canaria - Tenerife Armas, Fred Olsen, Trasmediterránea Desde 1h 20 min
Gran Canaria - Lanzarote Armas y Trasmediterránea Desde 7 horas
Gran Canaria - Fuerteventura Armas, Fred Olsen, Trasmediterránea Desde 2 horas
Gran Canaria - La Palma Trasmediterránea Desde 19 horas
Tenerife - La Gomera Armas, Fred Olsen Desde 50 minutos
Tenerife - La Palma Armas, Fred Olsen, Trasmediterránea Desde 3 horas
Tenerife - El Hierro Armas Desde 2h 45 min
Lanzarote - Fuerteventura Armas, Fred Olsen Desde 25 minutos
Lanzarote - Tenerife Trasmediterránea Desde 17 horas
Lanzarote - La Palma Trasmediterránea Desde 32 horas
La Palma - La Gomera Armas, Fred Olsen Desde 1h 50 min

Para más información, consulta la web de las compañías Armas, Fred Olsen y Trasmediterránea.

X Switch to mobile version

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaGranadaCordobaA CoruñaCadizHuescaMurciaLugoAsturiasLleidaValenciaCastellón - CastellóCantabriaAlicante - AlacantLa RiojaPontevedraCáceresLeónAlmeríaToledoBurgosVizcaya - BizkaiaJaénGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCiudad RealSegoviaHuelvaGironaValladolidTarragonaÁlava - ArabaZaragozaSalamancaNavarreTeruelCuencaZamoraÁvilaBadajozOurenseAlbacetePalenciaGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera