Basilica of Santa Lucía del Trampal

Contact details

Carretera EX-382, a 3 km en dirección a Montánchez
10160  Alcuéscar, Cáceres  (Extremadura)
Tel.:+34 927185531




Tel.: +34 608258780



This monastic church, one of the few Visigothic buildings that have survived, was designed to cater for the specific needs of 7th century Spanish-Gothic liturgy.

These peculiarities include its original distribution of space and its floor plan in the shape of the Greek letter "tau", similar to the Church of San Juan de Baños in Palencia. Although it was unified into a single space in Gothic times, it was originally made up of three naves, the central one being the larger and longer one, and the side ones being narrower, almost passageways. Three independent straight chapels open up to a transept with curious access doors that lead directly to the side apses. The chapels give the sanctuary a fork-like appearance. All three have beautiful horseshoe triumphal arches. A large part of the original stone vaults are preserved, which alternate with three magnificent domes over the space to access the chapels. They are supported by six transversal horseshoe arches.

  • Construction: Basilica
  • Artistic period: Visigothic

Practical information


  • From Jun 01 to Sep 30
  • From Tuesday to Saturday

    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM From 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM
  • Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM
  • Closing days: Monday
  • From Oct 01 to May 31
  • From Tuesday to Saturday

    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM From 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
  • Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM
  • Closing days: Monday


  • Admission free


Guided tours


X Switch to mobile version

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaA CoruñaCordobaGranadaLugoMurciaCadizHuescaAlicante - AlacantAsturiasGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaVizcaya - BizkaiaPontevedraCastellón - CastellóCantabriaLa RiojaValenciaAlmeríaToledoBurgosJaénLeónValladolidCáceresSegoviaÁlava - ArabaTarragonaZaragozaCiudad RealHuelvaLleidaSalamancaGironaNavarreCuencaBadajozZamoraÁvilaOurenseTeruelGuadalajaraPalenciaAlbaceteSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias TenerifeLanzaroteLa PalmaFuerteventuraGran CanariaLa Gomera