38180  Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Tenerife  (Canary Islands)
Centro de visitantes Cruz del Carmen, San Cristóbal de La Laguna
Tlf.:+34 922633576



  • x

    Biosfærereservat: et naturreservat, der af UNESCO er blevet erklæret for at være af en bestemt type.


A nature area full of spectacular contrasts

Macizo de Anaga is a Protected Nature Area that was awarded the UNESCO Biosphere Reserve designation in 2015.

Anaga is situated in the northeast of the island and is a rough mountain range with valleys and ravines that go down to the sea. It covers 8% of the island and is characterised by being a vast area a full of flora and fauna. The area is part of Santa Cruz de Tenerife and there are three especially valuable places: the Integral Nature Reserves of Ijuana, El Pijaral and Los Roques de Anaga.

  • Type område Biosphere reserve
  • Areal 14.418 hektarer

Vis på kort

Adgang og omgivelser


The houses of the residents of Anaga are surrounded by vegetable gardens and they adapt to the uneven terrain, creating terraces to grow crops. The area's gastronomy is based on goat and rabbit meat, and fresh fish. The main traditional crafts in the area are basketwork, wooden miniatures and carving of tuff, a volcanic stone.


Macizo de Anaga stands out because of its unique landscape, dense vegetation, and numerous ravines and valleys. There is also a network of paths that allows visitors to discover most of the nature areas on foot. Between the ravines there are small coves and dark-sand beaches, and the coast is good for scuba diving.


It is easy to get to the island of Tenerife by plane or boat via its capital, Santa Cruz de Tenerife. In Macizo de Anaga there is a hostel on Chamorga road.

Spain BarcelonaSevillaMadridMálagaGranadaCórdobaCoruña, ACádizLugoHuescaMurciaAsturienLleidaCastellón-CastellóCantabrienAlicante-AlacantLa RiojaValencia-ValènciaPontevedraJaénAlmeríaToledoBurgosBizkaiaLeónCáceresGipuzkoaValladolidSegoviaHuelvaCiudad RealGironaSalamancaTarragonaZaragozaAraba-ÁlavaCuencaTeruelZamoraNavarraÁvilaBadajozOurenseAlbacetePalenciaGuadalajaraSoriaDe Kanariske ØerBalearerne
Baleares MallorcaIbizaMenorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteTenerifeLa PalmaGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera