Zona Sierra de Atapuerca
09199  Atapuerca, Burgos  (Castilla y Leon)
Tlf.:+34 947257067
Tlf.:+34 947421000




Tlf.: +34 947421000 / +34 902024246,

  • x

    Verdensarv: udpeges af UNESCO.

  • x

    Pilgrimsruten til Santiago: første europæiske kulturrute og rute udnævnt til verdensarv. Se mere


The most important archaeological site in all of Europe.

Atapuerca is one of Europe's most important archaeological sites. It was designated a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 2000, and a Site of Outstanding Universal Value, also by UNESCO, in 2015.

The archaeological site of Atapuerca is one of the most important in Europe, because it has traces of hominid life in the area from a million years ago. The site lies in the small municipality of Atapuerca, about 20 kilometres north east of Burgos. The Sima de los Huesos is a cave where bones from over 32 bodies of people of all different ages and both genders have been discovered, and is one of the best known examples of a colony from that era. The site was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 2000.

  • Bygning: Archaeological site
  • Stilperiode: Prehistory
  • Omgivelser: The city of Burgos is about 20 km away. The most important archaeological sites are located in the areas called "La Gran Dolina", "Galería-Covacha de los Zarpazos", the "Penal" site, "Sima del Elefante", "Sima de los Huesos" and "El Mirador".

Praktiske oplysninger


By prior appointment.

You can get more information on times and prices on the oficial website .  


  • Standard: 6€
  • Reduceret: 5€
  • Person med nedsat funktionsevne: Gratis entré

Admission free: children under 8 years


Guidede rundvisninger

Vis på kort

HVAD ER DER I NÆRHEDEN? (inden for en radius af 2 km)

Spain BarcelonaSevillaMadridMálagaGranadaCórdobaCoruña, ACádizHuescaMurciaLugoAsturienLleidaCastellón-CastellóValencia-ValènciaAlicante-AlacantCantabrienLa RiojaPontevedraCáceresLeónToledoAlmeríaBurgosBizkaiaJaénGipuzkoaCiudad RealSegoviaHuelvaValladolidGironaTarragonaAraba-ÁlavaZaragozaSalamancaNavarraTeruelCuencaZamoraÁvilaBadajozOurenseAlbacetePalenciaGuadalajaraSoriaDe Kanariske ØerBalearerne
Baleares MallorcaIbizaMenorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraLa Gomera