Plaça Pla de la Seu, s/n
43003  Tarragona  (Catalonia)
Tfn::+34 977226935




Its construction began in 1184, over the remains of an old Christian basilica that, in turn, was erected on top of a 10th-century Arab mosque. It was made in Romanesque style, in transition to Gothic. The church has a Latin-cross plan, with three naves and an accentuated transept, over which stands an impressive octagonal dome. The naves end in three circular apses. On the main façade we see two remarkable 12th-century Romanesque portals, and a gorgeous rose window with openwork tracery. In the mullion of the portal there is an image of the Virgin with the Child. In the interior we can see the remarkable 15th-century high reredos, the work of Pere Johan. Made with polychromatic alabaster, its most striking feature is the trilogy of sculptures that represent the Virgin, St. Tecla and St. Paul. The Archbishop's Sepulchre, placed over the high altar, is one of the Gothic gems of this temple, as is the chapel of Santa María, which dates from the 14th century. At the Diocesan Museum, a wonderful collection of tapestries from the workshops of Brussels stands out, along with a reredos made by Jaime Huguet.

  • Byggnad: Cathedral
  • Konsthistorisk period: Gothic
  • Historisk period: 12th century

Praktisk information


  • Från nov 02 till mar 12
  • Från Måndag till Fredag

    Från 10:00 till 17:00
  • Från 10:00 till 19:00
  • Stängt: Sunday
  • Från mar 14 till jun 11
  • Från Måndag till Lördag

    Från 10:00 till 19:00
  • Stängt: Sunday
  • Från jun 14 till sep 11
  • Från Måndag till Lördag

    Från 10:00 till 20:00
  • Söndag

    Från 15:00 till 20:00
  • Från sep 12 till okt 31
  • Från Måndag till Lördag

    Från 10:00 till 19:00
  • Stängt: Sunday


  • Ordinarie: 5€
  • Pensionärer: 4€
  • Barn: 3€


Guidade visningar


VAD FINNS I NÄRHETEN? (inom en radie på 2 km)

Spain SevillaMadridCórdobaValenciaMálagaA CoruñaGranadaBarcelonaHuescaCastellón - CastellóCádizLleidaCáceresLa RiojaMurciaAlicante - AlacantPontevedraAsturienVizcaya - BizkaiaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaKantabrienLugoBurgosToledoAlmeríaJaénTarragonaHuelvaÁlava - ArabaÁvilaCiudad RealLeónZaragozaGironaTeruelSalamancaZamoraBadajozSegoviaCuencaNavarraPalenciaValladolidSoriaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraKanarieöarnaBalearerna
Baleares MallorcaIbizaMenorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraGomera