As Mariñas Coruñesas e Terras do Mandeo Biosphere Reserve


A Coruña  (Galicia)
'Mariñas-Betanzos' rural development association
Tlf.:+34 981669541
Faks:+34 981673674


As Mariñas Coruñesas e Terras do Mandeo Biosphere Reserve

  • x

    Biosfærereservat, anerkjennelse fra UNESCO som tildeles visse naturområder.


It is located in the province of A Coruña (Galicia) in northeast Spain, and comprises 113,969.7 land hectares and 2,754.8 marine hectares, an area that covers 14.33% of the province, extending over 18 municipalities.

The visit to this Biosphere Reserve is an opportunity to discover two great river basins, the Mero and Mandeo, with the natural landscapes commonly found in riverbank woodlands, wetlands and sites with the connection between inland and coastal waters that is typical of Atlantic forests. The area also has the wide cultural diversity closely based on the use of natural resources (fertilisers, honey production, etc.). All this has enabled the continuation of the area's communities and the conservation of local livestock breeds. In fact this care of the surroundings means that visitors can choose from a range of first-rate gastronomic products (wine, shellfish, etc.).


A Coruña (Galicia)

Abegondo, Aranga, Arteixo, Bergondo, Betanzos, Cambre, Carral, Cesuras, Coirós, Culleredo, Curtis, Irixoa, Miño, Oleiros, Oza dos Ríos, Paderne, Sada, Sobrado

  • Type område Biosphere reserve
  • Areal 116724 hektar


Atkomst og omgivelser

Kulturell informasjon

It is also home to monuments such as the Pazo de Mariñán manor and its famous gardens, as well as a series of churches in the town of Betanzos, and valuable examples of Romanesque art and architecture. What's more, two routes of the Way of Saint James –the English route and the Northern route– also run through this territory.

Miljømessig informasjon

This is an area that is respectful of the environment, and where resources are used based on the principles of sustainability.

Spain SevilleMadridCordobaBarcelonaMalagaValenciaA CoruñaGranadaCáceresCastellón - CastellóLleidaLugoMurciaHuescaPontevedraVizcaya - BizkaiaLa RiojaCadizCantabriaAlicante - AlacantBurgosGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaToledoAlmeríaAsturiasJaénÁlava - ArabaTarragonaHuelvaÁvilaTeruelLeónZamoraSalamancaZaragozaCiudad RealGironaSegoviaNavarreBadajozCuencaValladolidOurenseSoriaPalenciaAlbaceteGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias Gran CanariaLa PalmaLanzaroteTenerifeGomeraFuerteventura