Puerto de Santa María, El

Great Priory Church and Basilica of Nuestra Señora de los Milagros


Plaza de España, s/n.
11500  Puerto de Santa María, El, Cadiz  (Andalusia)
Tlf.:+34 956851716




Under the patronage of the Dukes of Medinaceli.

Built of sandstone in the upper part of the city, the church came under the patronage of the Dukes of Medinaceli, the governors of El Puerto de Santa María.

Building began in the 13th century, but would not be completed until the 17th. The interior comprises three naves with cross-vaulted ceilings and side chapels. There is an unfinished Baroque portico, known as the Portada del Perdón, designed in the form of an altarpiece, and another, the Puerta del Sol, also Baroque, which is the main entrance. The altarpiece of the main altar was replaced with a Renaissance baldachin and a staircase with balustrade. Inside there are important religious images such as a 13th-century Virgin of Miracles, to whom the church is dedicated, and a figure of Christ by Pedro Roldán. In the chapel of the Tabernacle there is an excellent altarpiece in Mexican silver.

  • Konstruksjon: Church
  • Kunsthistorisk periode: Gothic
  • Historisk periode: 13th century
  • Omgivelser: Church of San Francisco, Church of Las Concepcionistas, Convent of the Capuchinas, Town Hall, San Marcos Castle.

Praktisk informasjon


  • Fra Mandag til Fredag

    Fra 10:00 til 12:30 Fra 17:00 til 19:30
  • Lørdag

    Fra 10:00 til 12:30 Fra 18:00 til 19:30
  • Offentlige fridager og Søndag
    Fra 08:30 til 13:45 Fra 18:30 til 21:00


  • Generelt: 1€
  • Helg

  • Gratis inngang


Guidede omvisninger, Butikk


HVA FINNES DET I NÆRHETEN? (innenfor en radius av 2 km)

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaValenciaCadizGranadaCantabriaCáceresMurciaAlicante - AlacantLleidaPontevedraLa RiojaCastellón - CastellóGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaAsturiasVizcaya - BizkaiaGironaLugoHuescaToledoBurgosÁlava - ArabaJaénTarragonaAlmeríaHuelvaÁvilaLeónZaragozaSegoviaTeruelSalamancaCiudad RealValladolidBadajozCuencaNavarreZamoraPalenciaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaGran CanariaTenerifeFuerteventuraLa GomeraHierro