The Seo, or Cathedral of San Salvador


Plaza de la Seo 2
50001  Zaragoza  (Aragon)
Tel.:+34 976291231



  • x

    Werelderfgoed, door de UNESCO afgegeven certificering.


A cultural melting pot.

The monument has undergone a series of transformations in a wide variety of architectural styles.

A temple was set on this site as far back as the first century BC, known during the Visigoth period as the church of San Vicente. It was also the site of a mosque. It was in the 12th century, however, when the first Christian church was built here. It was built to face north instead of east, as was the tradition of the time, so as not to coincide with the direction of Muslim prayers towards Mecca. Changes were made subsequently. The Cathedral also contains elements of Gothic, Mudejar, Renaissance and Baroque styles. The Main Door is representative of the last of these, and dates from the 18th century. The cathedral treasures, including its famous tapestries, are on view to visitors inside.

  • Bouw: Cathedral
  • Artistieke periode: Gothic
  • Historische periode: 12th century

Praktische informatie


  • Vanaf 15 Jun tot 15 Sep
  • Van Maandag tot Donderdag

    Van 10:00 tot 18:00 Van 20:00 tot 20:30
  • Van 10:00 tot 17:30
  • Van 10:00 tot 12:00 Van 14:00 tot 20:30
  • Van 10:00 tot 11:30 Van 13:30 tot 20:30
  • Vanaf 16 Sep tot 14 Jun
  • Van Maandag tot Vrijdag

    Van 10:00 tot 13:30 Van 16:00 tot 17:30
  • Van 10:00 tot 12:00 Van 16:00 tot 17:30
  • Van 10:00 tot 11:30 Van 16:00 tot 17:30


  • Algemeen: 4€
  • Met korting: 3€


WAT IS ER IN DE BUURT? (in een straal van 2 km)

Spain SevillaMadridBarcelonaMalagaA CoruñaCordobaGranadaValenciaLugoCadizLleidaHuescaCaceresAsturiëMurciaVizcaya -VizkaiaLa RiojaPontevedraCantabriëGuipuzcoa - GipuzkoaAlicante - AlacantToledoBurgosAlava - ArabaAlmeriaHuelvaAvilaJaenZamoraTarragonaTeruelZaragozaCiudad RealLeonSalamancaSegoviaGironaCuencaNavarraValladolidCastellon - CastellóOurenseSoriaBadajozAlbacetePalenciaGuadalajaraCanarische EilandenBalearen
Baleares MallorcaIbizaMenorcaFormentera
Canarias Gran CanariaLa PalmaTenerifeGomeraFuerteventuraLanzarote