Valbuena de Duero

Monastery of Santa María


Monasterio de Santa María, s/n
47359  Valbuena de Duero, Valladolid  (Castile-Leon)
Tel.:+34 983683159





The Cistercian monastery of Santa María de Valbuena is one of the finest examples of Cistercian architecture on the whole of the Iberian Peninsula.

The surviving elements from the monastic site date from the 12th to 13th centuries. The church has three naves in five sections under a cross vault, supported by pillars with double columns, a transept with pointed barrel vaults, a dome over the back lantern (16th century), belfry in two sections and sanctuary with five apses, of which the three central apses are semicircular (late 12th century). The exterior is extremely austere, with single pointed window openings and buttresses in the Cistercian style, with the exception of the western facade which has pointed archivolts. It also has a cloister on two floors, the lower dating from the 13th century, and the upper from the 16th century. Other highlights of the site include the sacristy, with plasterwork from the 18th century, the workroom and the refectory. It is today the headquarters of the Ages of Man Foundation.

  • Bouw: Monastery
  • Artistieke periode: Romanesque

Praktische informatie


  • Vanaf 01 Apr tot 30 Sep
  • Van Dinsdag tot Zaterdag


    Van 10:15 tot 13:45 Van 16:00 tot 19:45
  • Zondag

    Van 10:15 tot 13:45
  • Sluitingsdagen: Monday
  • Vanaf 01 Oct tot 31 Mar
  • Van Dinsdag tot Zaterdag


    Van 10:15 tot 13:45 Van 15:00 tot 18:45
  • Zondag

    Van 10:15 tot 13:45

Access to the church half an hour before the service.


  • Algemeen: 4€
  • Met korting: 3€
  • Kinderen: Entree gratis


Audiogidsen, Rondleidingen


Spain SevillaMadridCordobaValenciaMalagaA CoruñaGranadaBarcelonaHuescaCastellon - CastellóCadizLleidaCaceresLa RiojaMurciaAlicante - AlacantPontevedraAsturiëVizcaya -VizkaiaGuipuzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriëLugoBurgosToledoAlmeriaJaenTarragonaHuelvaAlava - ArabaAvilaCiudad RealLeonZaragozaGironaTeruelSalamancaZamoraBadajozSegoviaCuencaNavarraPalenciaValladolidSoriaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraCanarische EilandenBalearen
Baleares MallorcaIbizaMenorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraGomera