Plaça Pla de la Seu, s/n
43003  Tarragona  (Catalonia)
Tel.:+34 977226935




Its construction began in 1184, over the remains of an old Christian basilica that, in turn, was erected on top of a 10th-century Arab mosque. It was made in Romanesque style, in transition to Gothic. The church has a Latin-cross plan, with three naves and an accentuated transept, over which stands an impressive octagonal dome. The naves end in three circular apses. On the main façade we see two remarkable 12th-century Romanesque portals, and a gorgeous rose window with openwork tracery. In the mullion of the portal there is an image of the Virgin with the Child. In the interior we can see the remarkable 15th-century high reredos, the work of Pere Johan. Made with polychromatic alabaster, its most striking feature is the trilogy of sculptures that represent the Virgin, St. Tecla and St. Paul. The Archbishop's Sepulchre, placed over the high altar, is one of the Gothic gems of this temple, as is the chapel of Santa María, which dates from the 14th century. At the Diocesan Museum, a wonderful collection of tapestries from the workshops of Brussels stands out, along with a reredos made by Jaime Huguet.

  • Bouw: Cathedral
  • Artistieke periode: Gothic
  • Historische periode: 12th century

Praktische informatie


  • Vanaf 02 Nov tot 12 Mar
  • Van Maandag tot Vrijdag

    Van 10:00 tot 17:00
  • Van 10:00 tot 19:00
  • Sluitingsdagen: Sunday
  • Vanaf 14 Mar tot 11 Jun
  • Van Maandag tot Zaterdag

    Van 10:00 tot 19:00
  • Sluitingsdagen: Sunday
  • Vanaf 14 Jun tot 11 Sep
  • Van Maandag tot Zaterdag

    Van 10:00 tot 20:00
  • Zondag

    Van 15:00 tot 20:00
  • Vanaf 12 Sep tot 31 Oct
  • Van Maandag tot Zaterdag

    Van 10:00 tot 19:00
  • Sluitingsdagen: Sunday


  • Algemeen: 5€
  • Gepensioneerden: 4€
  • Kinderen: 3€




WAT IS ER IN DE BUURT? (in een straal van 2 km)

Spain SevillaMadridCordobaValenciaMalagaA CoruñaGranadaBarcelonaHuescaCastellon - CastellóCadizLleidaCaceresLa RiojaMurciaAlicante - AlacantPontevedraAsturiëVizcaya -VizkaiaGuipuzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriëLugoBurgosToledoAlmeriaJaenTarragonaHuelvaAlava - ArabaAvilaCiudad RealLeonZaragozaGironaTeruelSalamancaZamoraBadajozSegoviaCuencaNavarraPalenciaValladolidSoriaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraCanarische EilandenBalearen
Baleares MallorcaIbizaMenorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraGomera