Contactgegevens

Plaza de la Reina Victoria Eugenia, s/n.
40003  Segovia  (Castile-Leon)
patronato@alcazardesegovia.com
www.alcazardesegovia.com
Tel.:+34 921441737
Tel.:+34 921460759
Fax.:+34 921460755

Lokalisatie

Segovia

Beschrijving

Standing between the confluence of the Eresma and Clamores rivers, the first documented record of the fortress dates back to Christian writings in the 12th century. It was built on top of a rock, a testament to its original military status. It was used as a residence by Alfonso VIII. In the 13th century the building took on an air of Gothic elegance thanks to the Spanish architects working for John II and Henry IV. The last architectural phase was completed in 1587 by the architect Francisco de Mora, possibly in collaboration with Juan de Herrera, who designed the main courtyard and the Escuela de Honor building. In 1764, Charles II founded the Royal College of Artillery here. The edifice has a number of secret passageways that lead to the river and connect several of the city's palaces.

  • Bouw: Alcázar fortress
  • Artistieke periode: Gothic
  • Historische periode: 13th century, 12th century

Praktische informatie

Openingstijden

  • Vanaf 01 Apr tot 30 Sep
  • Van Maandag tot Zondag Van 10:00 tot 19:00
  • Vanaf 01 Oct tot 31 Oct
  • Van Zondag tot Donderdag Van 10:00 tot 18:00
  • Vrijdag, Zaterdag Van 10:00 tot 19:00
  • Vanaf 01 Nov tot 31 Mar
  • Van Maandag tot Zondag Van 10:00 tot 18:00

Nocturnal visit.

Prijzen

  • Algemeen: 5€
  • Met korting: 3€

Visits to the Juan II Tower: €2.00

Voorzieningen

Audio guide, Guided tours

Kaart



WAT IS ER IN DE BUURT? (in een straal van 2 km)