Plaza de la Seu, s/n
08002  Barcelona  (Catalonia)
Tel.:+34 933428262
Fax.:+34 933181681




Symbol of the diocese of Barcelona

It is built on the site of an early Christian basilica. Work began on the building during the Romanesque period, but it is mainly in the Gothic style.

It has a sober exterior, the only decoration being its vertical buttresses. The San Ivo entrance is a perfect example of the Catalan Gothic style. The interior naves are practically all of the same height, which gives the visitor the impression of being in a single space. The side chapels have an upper gallery, which affords the whole building a greater sense of brightness and space. The interior of the lantern is faced with wood coffering. The main façade was built much later (late 19th-early 20th century) but is based on a project from 1408. The doorway from the cloister to the cathedral is particularly worth noting, as is the chapel of Santa Lucía.

  • Bouw: Cathedral
  • Artistieke periode: Gothic
  • Historische periode: 20th Century, 13th century
  • Omgeving: Gothic quarter, Plaza de San Jaume square with the City Hall and the Regional Government Palace.

Praktische informatie


  • Van Maandag tot Vrijdag

    Van 08:00 tot 12:45 Van 13:00 tot 17:30 Van 17:45 tot 19:30
  • Zaterdag

    Van 08:00 tot 12:45 Van 13:00 tot 17:00 Van 17:15 tot 20:00
  • Feestdagen en Zondag
    Van 08:00 tot 13:45 Van 14:00 tot 17:00 Van 17:15 tot 20:00


  • Algemeen: 7€
  • Met korting: 5€

The cathedral and its cloister can be visited at free entry times. 


Rondleidingen, Winkel


Spain SevillaMadridCordobaValenciaMalagaA CoruñaGranadaBarcelonaHuescaCastellon - CastellóCadizLleidaCaceresLa RiojaMurciaAlicante - AlacantPontevedraAsturiëVizcaya -VizkaiaGuipuzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriëLugoBurgosToledoAlmeriaJaenTarragonaHuelvaAlava - ArabaAvilaCiudad RealLeonZaragozaGironaTeruelSalamancaZamoraBadajozSegoviaCuencaNavarraPalenciaValladolidSoriaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraCanarische EilandenBalearen
Baleares MallorcaIbizaMenorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraGomera