The radiography of a civilisation.

Its archaeological importance derives from the large number of preserved elements, allowing a complete view of the Roman 'polis'.

This prosperous city was born at the end of the second century BC. The street pattern is rectangular with two main thoroughfares - a horizontal one and a vertical one crossing in the forum - outstanding. Here can be found the curia, the basilica and the buildings that made up the administrative life of the city. On the lower part of the site is the monumental sector, with the theatre in the part with the greatest slope to take advantage of the gradient for building the terracing. It is believed that the homes of the Plebians might have been located in the higher part. The salting factories, for the famous 'garum' that gave Baelo Claudio its nickname, still remain, as does the market, the baths and one of the three aqueducts that supplied water. Declared an Archaeological Site by the Andalusian government in 1989.

  • Rakennus: City / settlement excavation site
  • Tyylisuunta: Classical-Roman
  • Aikakausi: Romanisation (B.C.)

Käytännön tietoja


  • Mistä: 16 syys mihin: 31 maalis
  • Mistä Tiistai mihin: Lauantai

    Mistä 09:00 mihin: 18:00
  • Juhlapyhät ja Sunnuntai
    Mistä 09:00 mihin: 15:00
  • Kiinniolopäivät: Monday
  • Mistä: 01 huhti mihin: 15 kesä
  • Mistä Tiistai mihin: Lauantai

    Mistä 09:00 mihin: 20:00
  • Juhlapyhät ja Sunnuntai
    Mistä 09:00 mihin: 15:00
  • Kiinniolopäivät: Monday
  • Mistä: 16 kesä mihin: 15 syys
  • Mistä Tiistai mihin: Sunnuntai

    Mistä 09:00 mihin: 15:00
  • Kiinniolopäivät: Monday

Closed: 1, 6 January, 1 May, 24, 25, 31 December. Access is permitted up until 30 minutes before the Assembly is over.

Local public holidays (open from 09:00 to 15:30):
10 march and 8 September.


  • Yleinen: 1,50€

Free admission citizens of the EU.


Opastetut kierrokset


  • Esteettömyys
  • Esteettömät yleiset tilat ja alueet


MITÄ LÄHISTÖLTÄ LÖYTYY? (2 km:n säteellä)

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridMalagaCordobaA CoruñaValenciaCadizGranadaCantabriaCáceresMurciaAlicante - AlacantLleidaPontevedraLa RiojaCastellón - CastellóGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaAsturiasVizcaya - BizkaiaGironaLugoHuescaToledoBurgosÁlava - ArabaJaénTarragonaAlmeríaHuelvaÁvilaLeónZaragozaSegoviaTeruelSalamancaCiudad RealValladolidBadajozCuencaNavarreZamoraPalenciaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraSoriaCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaGran CanariaTenerifeFuerteventuraLa GomeraHierro