Plaza de la Seu, s/n
08002  Barcelona  (Catalonia)
Puh.:+34 933428262
Faksi:+34 933181681




Symbol of the Barcelona diocese

It is built on the site of a paleo-Christian basilica. Work began on the building during the Romanesque period, but it was finished according to Gothic artistic principles, which was the prevailing style at the time of its completion.

It has a sober exterior, the only decoration being its vertical buttresses. The San Ivo entrance is a perfect example of what is known as the Catalan Gothic style. The interior naves are practically all of the same height, which gives the visitor the impression of being in a single space. The side chapels have an upper gallery, which affords the whole building a greater sense of brightness and space. The interior of the dome is faced with wood coffering. The main façade was built quite recently (late 19th to early 20th century), although based on a design dating from 1408. Highlights include the entrance door from the cloister to the cathedral and the chapel of Santa Lucía.

  • Rakennus: Cathedral
  • Tyylisuunta: Gothic
  • Aikakausi: 20th Century, 13th century
  • Ympäristö: Gothic quarter, Plaza de San Jaume square with the City Hall and the Regional Government Palace.

Käytännön tietoja


  • Mistä Maanantai mihin: Perjantai

    Mistä 08:00 mihin: 12:45 Mistä 13:00 mihin: 17:30 Mistä 17:45 mihin: 19:30
  • Lauantai

    Mistä 08:00 mihin: 12:45 Mistä 13:00 mihin: 17:00 Mistä 17:15 mihin: 20:00
  • Juhlapyhät ja Sunnuntai
    Mistä 08:00 mihin: 13:45 Mistä 14:00 mihin: 17:00 Mistä 17:15 mihin: 20:00


  • Yleinen: 7€
  • Alennettu: 5€


Guided tours, Shop


Spain SevilleMadridBarcelonaMalagaA CoruñaCordobaGranadaValenciaLugoCáceresMurciaLleidaCadizPontevedraHuescaVizcaya - BizkaiaLa RiojaAsturiasGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriaBurgosAlicante - AlacantToledoCastellón - CastellóAlmeríaÁlava - ArabaHuelvaÁvilaJaénZaragozaLeónZamoraTarragonaTeruelCiudad RealSalamancaSegoviaGironaCuencaNavarreValladolidBadajozOurenseSoriaAlbacetePalenciaGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias Gran CanariaLa PalmaTenerifeGomeraLanzaroteFuerteventura