San Isidoro Royal Collegiate Church in León

Contact details

Plaza de San Isidoro 4
24003  León  (Castile-Leon)
Tel.:+34 987875088
Fax.:+34 987876162




The Spanish Romanesque

The collegiate church is one of the most important Romanesque buildings in Spain.

It was built on the foundations of an earlier church dedicated to Saint John the Baptist which was torn down in 988 by Al-Mansur. It was restored by Alfonso V; a new church was subsequently built by Ferdinand I and the relics of Saint Isidore and Saint Vincent were transferred there, making it particularly significant. The church was originally in the Asturian pre-Romanesque style and was later rebuilt in the full Romanesque style with three naves, and a sanctuary with three apses. One of these apses was removed when it was converted to the Gothic style.

  • Construction: Collegiate church
  • Artistic period: Romanesque
  • Historic period: 12th century, 11th century

Practical information


  • From Sep 26 to Apr 30
  • From Monday to Saturday

    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM From 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
  • Public holidays and Sunday
    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM
  • From May 01 to Jul 08
  • From Monday to Thursday

    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM From 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
  • From Friday to Saturday

    From 10:00 AM to 2:00 PM From 4:00 PM to 8:00 PM
  • Public holidays and Sunday
    From 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM
  • From Jul 09 to Sep 25
  • From Monday to Saturday

    From 9:00 AM to 9:00 PM
  • Public holidays and Sunday
    From 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM


  • General: €5
  • Groups: €4


Guided tours


WHAT IS THERE NEARBY? (within a 2 km radius)

Spain SevilleMadridCordobaValenciaMalagaA CoruñaGranadaBarcelonaHuescaCastellón - CastellóCadizLleidaCáceresLa RiojaMurciaAlicante - AlacantPontevedraAsturiasVizcaya - BizkaiaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriaLugoBurgosToledoAlmeríaJaénTarragonaHuelvaÁlava - ArabaÁvilaCiudad RealLeónZaragozaGironaTeruelSalamancaZamoraBadajozSegoviaCuencaNavarrePalenciaValladolidSoriaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraGomera