Contact details

Federación Vasca de Montaña. Euskal Mendizale Federazioa
Guipúzcoa - Gipuzkoa  (Basque Country)
Federación Vasca de Montaña. Euskal Mendizale Federazioa
Tel.:+34 943 47 42 79
Fax.:+34 943 46 24 36




The province of Guipúzcoa is one of the smallest on the Iberian Peninsula, although this is not an impediment to it presenting a wide variety of countryside.

The ocean and the cliffs are impassable steep rocks that attract your attention.The remainder are mountains bordering Vizcaya, Álava, Navarra and Lapurdi/Labourd. Its geographic distribution seems forced to fit in all of its elements: narrow parallel valleys running from north to south in which the localities are located, and on the slopes the country houses, distributed in pursuit of certain independence.

Route details

Departure point: Sendero circular
Difficulty: Difficult
Distance (km): 301
No. of stages: 17



San Sebastián/Donostia - Orio - Zarautz - Zumaia - Deba - Eibar - Port of Kampazar - Betsaide - Sta. Águeda - Uncella - Pto. Arlaban - Sierra of Artia -Urbia - S. Adrián - Otsaurte - Pto. Etxegarate - Pto. Lizarrusti - Igaratza -Minas - Illarrazu - Uli - Port of Urto - Urepal - Cdo. de Errekalko - Arano -Añarbe - Zaria - Ref. de Arritxulegi - Crags of Aia - Irún - Donibane - San Sebastián/Donostia. GR 121.1 Aratz Variant: Adrián - Allarte - Umandia - Albarrain - Txurrukupunta - Pto. Otzaurte. Diversion to Ataún: Access from the village of Ataun. There are another two variants as well as the GR 121.2 Arano Variant, the GR 121.3 Arno Variant and the GR 121.4 Urbía Variant.


You can stay overnight, eat and purchase supplies in the localities along the path, as well as in the agritourism houses along it. Regular connections between the capital city of the region and the localities along the coast and those located along the N-1 road.