Contact details

Plaza de la Seu, s/n
08002  Barcelona  (Catalonia)
Tel.:+34 933428262
Fax.:+34 933181681




Symbol of the diocese of Barcelona

It is built on the site of an early Christian basilica. Work began on the building during the Romanesque period, but it is mainly in the Gothic style.

It has a sober exterior, the only decoration being its vertical buttresses. The San Ivo entrance is a perfect example of the Catalan Gothic style. The interior naves are practically all of the same height, which gives the visitor the impression of being in a single space. The side chapels have an upper gallery, which affords the whole building a greater sense of brightness and space. The interior of the lantern is faced with wood coffering. The main façade was built much later (late 19th-early 20th century) but is based on a project from 1408. The doorway from the cloister to the cathedral is particularly worth noting, as is the chapel of Santa Lucía.

  • Construction: Cathedral
  • Artistic period: Gothic
  • Historic period: 20th Century, 13th century
  • Setting: Gothic quarter, Plaza de San Jaume square with the City Hall and the Regional Government Palace.

Practical information


  • From Monday to Friday

    From 8:00 AM to 12:45 PM From 1:00 PM to 5:30 PM From 5:45 PM to 7:30 PM
  • Saturday

    From 8:00 AM to 12:45 PM From 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM From 5:15 PM to 8:00 PM
  • Public holidays and Sunday
    From 8:00 AM to 1:45 PM From 2:00 PM to 5:00 PM From 5:15 PM to 8:00 PM


  • General: €7
  • Reduced: €5

The cathedral and its cloister can be visited at free entry times. 


Guided tours, Shop


Spain SevilleMadridCordobaValenciaMalagaA CoruñaGranadaBarcelonaHuescaCastellón - CastellóCadizLleidaCáceresLa RiojaMurciaAlicante - AlacantPontevedraAsturiasVizcaya - BizkaiaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabriaLugoBurgosToledoAlmeríaJaénTarragonaHuelvaÁlava - ArabaÁvilaCiudad RealLeónZaragozaGironaTeruelSalamancaZamoraBadajozSegoviaCuencaNavarrePalenciaValladolidSoriaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraGomera