Contact details

Monte Benacantil, s/n.
03002  Alicante-Alacant, Alicante, Alicante - Alacant  (Valencia)
Tel.:+34 965263131





It is set on the Monte Benacantil hill, a location of great strategic value. It is so-called as it was captured from the Moors by prince Alfonso of Castile on the feast day of Santa Bárbara. The castle was remodelled in the times of Philip II. It suffered numerous bombardments during the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. It opened to the public in 1963 and that same year, the two lifts that run inside the hill were inaugurated. The castle is divided into three areas: La Torreta, where you can see the old keep; an intermediate section corresponding to the most important rooms, including the outstanding hall of Philip II, the bailey, etc., and the lower area, dating from the 18th century, home to the “Revellín del Bon Repós” rampart.

  • Construction: Castle
  • Artistic period: Renaissance
  • Historic period: 9th century

Practical information


  • From Apr 01 to Jun 30
  • From Monday to Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 10:00 PM
  • From Jul 05 to Sep 01
  • From Monday to Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 00:00 AM
  • From Sep 02 to Sep 30
  • From Monday to Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 10:00 PM
  • From Oct 01 to Mar 31
  • From Monday to Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 08:00 PM

Acceso gratuito por Vázquez de Mella. Ascensor gratuito julio y agosto de 19 a 23.30 h. Resto del año, acceso al ascensor por el túnel de la Avenida Juan Bautista Lafora, frente a playa del Postiguet.


  • General: €2,70


Audio guide, Cafe, Guided tours, Shop


WHAT IS THERE NEARBY? (within a 2 km radius)

Spain SevilleMadridBarcelonaMalagaA CoruñaGranadaCordobaValenciaCáceresLugoMurciaLleidaCadizPontevedraHuescaVizcaya - BizkaiaLa RiojaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaAsturiasCantabriaBurgosAlicante - AlacantToledoCastellón - CastellóAlmeríaÁlava - ArabaHuelvaÁvilaJaénZaragozaZamoraTeruelCiudad RealLeónSalamancaTarragonaSegoviaGironaCuencaNavarreBadajozValladolidOurenseSoriaAlbacetePalenciaGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias Gran CanariaLa PalmaTenerifeGomeraLanzaroteFuerteventura