Contact details

Plaza del Trigo, 1
32005  Orense, Ourense  (Galicia)
Tel.:+34 988366064
Tel.:+34 608505531
Tel.:+34 988220992



A great Romanesque temple

Dating back to the second half of the 12th century and to the early 13th century, it was built on top of a primitive temple from the Swabian period. Various styles come together in this building (Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassical), although its structure is Romanesque, taking the form of a cross with Cistercian and Compostelan influences. It was built to a Latin Cross plan and originally had three apses, although only one survives. Since 1987 it has been a basilica.

  • Construction: Cathedral
  • Artistic period: Gothic
  • Historic period: 12th century
  • Setting: San Clodio, Santa María de Melón.

Practical information


  • From Mar 01 to Sep 30
  • From Monday to Saturday

    From 11:00 AM to 2:30 PM From 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
  • Sunday

    From 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
  • From 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
  • From Oct 01 to Feb 28
  • From Monday to Thursday

    From 11:00 AM to 2:30 PM From 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM
  • From Friday to Saturday

    From 11:00 AM to 2:30 PM From 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
  • Sunday

    From 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM
  • Sunday

    From 4:00 PM to 6:00 PM


General admission: €5 – Includes audioguide. The Cathedral Museum, 'Treasures of the Cathedral', is included in the visit.
Pensioners: €4.50
Pilgrims: €3.50
Groups (+20), Carnet Joven youth card: €3
Children under 12 years old and disabled people: Admission free


WHAT IS THERE NEARBY? (within a 2 km radius)

X Switch to mobile version

Spain BarcelonaSevilleMadridCordobaMalagaValenciaCadizA CoruñaGranadaHuescaCáceresCantabriaAlicante - AlacantMurciaLleidaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCastellón - CastellóPontevedraAsturiasLa RiojaVizcaya - BizkaiaGironaToledoÁlava - ArabaLugoJaénAlmeríaTarragonaBurgosHuelvaSegoviaZaragozaTeruelÁvilaSalamancaCiudad RealLeónValladolidBadajozCuencaZamoraNavarreOurenseSoriaPalenciaAlbaceteGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares MajorcaIbizaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaGran CanariaTenerifeFuerteventuraLa GomeraHierro