Contact details

Calle Santa María s/n
25700  Seu d'Urgell, La, Lleida  (Catalonia)
Tel.:+34 973353242




One of the jewels of the Pyrenees Romanesque

The temple is an example of the Catalonian Romanesque with Lombard influences on the exterior.

It was Bishop Ermengol who began the work on the Romanesque cathedral in the 11th century, however, the church was knocked down half a century later and the one that remains today was erected. Construction was completed in 1183. It possesses an exemplary Romanesque style with Lombardic influences on the exterior. It has a basilica ground plan with three naves and a transept with five apses. The façade has three entrances. The cloister has decorations with plant and human figure motifs in the capitals. The choir, the railings, the stained glass windows and the reredos are from the 15th century and there are also some 18th century Baroque elements. The Diocesan Museum contains the Commentary of the Apocalypse, a Mozarab miniature from the beginning of the 10th century.

  • Construction: Cathedral
  • Artistic period: Romanesque
  • Historic period: 12th century
  • Setting: Parc del Segre, Episcopal Palace.

Practical information


  • From Jun 01 to Sep 15
  • From Monday to Saturday

    From 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM From 4:00 PM to 7:00 PM
  • Public holidays and Sunday
    From 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM
  • From Sep 16 to May 31
  • From Monday to Sunday

    From 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM


  • General: €3
  • Groups: €2,50
  • Children: Admission free


WHAT IS THERE NEARBY? (within a 2 km radius)

X Switch to mobile version

Spain SevilleMadridMalagaCordobaValenciaA CoruñaBarcelonaHuescaGranadaCadizCáceresGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaAlicante - AlacantLa RiojaLleidaMurciaCastellón - CastellóPontevedraAsturiasCantabriaVizcaya - BizkaiaToledoLugoBurgosÁlava - ArabaAlmeríaJaénTarragonaÁvilaLeónTeruelGironaCiudad RealSegoviaBadajozSalamancaHuelvaZaragozaNavarreCuencaValladolidZamoraPalenciaSoriaAlbaceteOurenseGuadalajaraCanary IslandsBalearic Islands
Baleares IbizaMajorcaMinorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaFuerteventuraTenerifeGran CanariaGomeraHierro