Plaça Pla de la Seu, s/n
43003  Tarragona  (Catalonia)
Tlf.:+34 977226935




Its construction began in 1184, over the remains of an old Christian basilica that, in turn, was erected on top of a 10th-century Arab mosque. It was made in Romanesque style, in transition to Gothic. The church has a Latin-cross plan, with three naves and an accentuated transept, over which stands an impressive octagonal dome. The naves end in three circular apses. On the main façade we see two remarkable 12th-century Romanesque portals, and a gorgeous rose window with openwork tracery. In the mullion of the portal there is an image of the Virgin with the Child. In the interior we can see the remarkable 15th-century high reredos, the work of Pere Johan. Made with polychromatic alabaster, its most striking feature is the trilogy of sculptures that represent the Virgin, St. Tecla and St. Paul. The Archbishop's Sepulchre, placed over the high altar, is one of the Gothic gems of this temple, as is the chapel of Santa María, which dates from the 14th century. At the Diocesan Museum, a wonderful collection of tapestries from the workshops of Brussels stands out, along with a reredos made by Jaime Huguet.

  • Bygning: Cathedral
  • Stilperiode: Gothic
  • Historisk periode: 12th century

Praktiske oplysninger


  • Fra 02 nov til 12 mar
  • Fra Mandag til Fredag

    Fra 10:00 til 17:00
  • Fra 10:00 til 19:00
  • Lukkedage: Sunday
  • Fra 14 mar til 11 jun
  • Fra Mandag til Lørdag

    Fra 10:00 til 19:00
  • Lukkedage: Sunday
  • Fra 14 jun til 11 sep
  • Fra Mandag til Lørdag

    Fra 10:00 til 20:00
  • Søndag

    Fra 15:00 til 20:00
  • Fra 12 sep til 31 okt
  • Fra Mandag til Lørdag

    Fra 10:00 til 19:00
  • Lukkedage: Sunday


  • Standard: 5€
  • Pensionist: 4€
  • Barn: 3€


Guidede rundvisninger

Vis på kort

HVAD ER DER I NÆRHEDEN? (inden for en radius af 2 km)

Spain SevillaMadridCórdobaValenciaMálagaA CoruñaGranadaBarcelonaHuescaCastellón - CastellóCádizLleidaCáceresLa RiojaMurciaAlicante - AlacantPontevedraAsturienVizcaya -VizkaiaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabrienLugoBurgosToledoAlmeríaJaénTarragonaHuelvaAlava - ArabaÁvilaCiudad RealLeónZaragozaGironaTeruelSalamancaZamoraBadajozSegoviaCuencaNavarraPalenciaValladolidSoriaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraDe Kanariske ØerBalearerne
Baleares MallorcaIbizaMenorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraGomera