Plaza de la Seu, s/n
08002  Barcelona  (Catalonia)
Tlf.:+34 933428262
Fax::+34 933181681




Symbol of the diocese of Barcelona

It is built on the site of an early Christian basilica. Work began on the building during the Romanesque period, but it is mainly in the Gothic style.

It has a sober exterior, the only decoration being its vertical buttresses. The San Ivo entrance is a perfect example of the Catalan Gothic style. The interior naves are practically all of the same height, which gives the visitor the impression of being in a single space. The side chapels have an upper gallery, which affords the whole building a greater sense of brightness and space. The interior of the lantern is faced with wood coffering. The main façade was built much later (late 19th-early 20th century) but is based on a project from 1408. The doorway from the cloister to the cathedral is particularly worth noting, as is the chapel of Santa Lucía.

  • Bygning: Cathedral
  • Stilperiode: Gothic
  • Historisk periode: 20th Century, 13th century
  • Omgivelser: Gothic quarter, Plaza de San Jaume square with the City Hall and the Regional Government Palace.

Praktiske oplysninger


  • Fra Mandag til Fredag

    Fra 08:00 til 12:45 Fra 13:00 til 17:30 Fra 17:45 til 19:30
  • Lørdag

    Fra 08:00 til 12:45 Fra 13:00 til 17:00 Fra 17:15 til 20:00
  • Helligdage og Søndag
    Fra 08:00 til 13:45 Fra 14:00 til 17:00 Fra 17:15 til 20:00


  • Standard: 7€
  • Reduceret: 5€

The cathedral and its cloister can be visited at free entry times. 


Guidede rundvisninger, Butik

Vis på kort

Spain SevillaMadridCórdobaValenciaMálagaA CoruñaGranadaBarcelonaHuescaCastellón - CastellóCádizLleidaCáceresLa RiojaMurciaAlicante - AlacantPontevedraAsturienVizcaya -VizkaiaGuipúzcoa - GipuzkoaCantabrienLugoBurgosToledoAlmeríaJaénTarragonaHuelvaAlava - ArabaÁvilaCiudad RealLeónZaragozaGironaTeruelSalamancaZamoraBadajozSegoviaCuencaNavarraPalenciaValladolidSoriaOurenseAlbaceteGuadalajaraDe Kanariske ØerBalearerne
Baleares MallorcaIbizaMenorcaFormentera
Canarias LanzaroteLa PalmaTenerifeGran CanariaFuerteventuraGomera